My husband is a wonderful, fantastic man, and agreed to try and make me a loaf mold for expanding my soap making possibilities.  Using silicone molds is fantastic, but the old-fashioned wooden loaf molds appeal to me on an aesthetic level.  The idea of using the same type of tool that’s been in use by generations of soap makers really makes me feel connected to the people who have gone before me.

So we looked up some plans for building a mold on the Internet, and went to Home Depot to look at lumber.  We discovered a wonderful product that they carry, where the pieces of wood are already cut down to smaller pieces.  My loaf mold ended up with dimensions of 22.5 inches long by 4 inches wide by 3.5 inches tall.  That means it can hold about 7.5 pounds of soap, if I filled it totally full.  Because it’s so big, I’ve added clear acrylic dividers so I can make multiple batches in the same mold.  We’re also considering making a second mold with permanent dividers included, as a permanent tester mold.  I am excited to work on my first batches!

DSCF1063 DSCF1064 DSCF1062

